Reckless Driving in General:
Reckless driving generally refers to a careless and disturbed driving which usually results in physical harm to a person or someone’s property. Some severe cases of reckless driving may cause some serious detriment to public and public assets. Traffic psychologists relate the reckless driving to different behaviors of the driver like aggressiveness, limits in cognitive ability, status consciousness and interests in experiencing speed thrills (especially solo drivers). In Arlington County and other jurisdictions of Virginia including many other states of the USA, reckless driving is considered as a severe offense of the moving traffic. Tailgating and lane-hogging are very common among drivers. Arlington County, like many jurisdictions of Virginia, have serious law infringement penalties against reckless driving.
Laws for Reckless Driving in Arlington County, Virginia:
There are many articles in Code of Virginia concerning the reckless driving. Plus if you live in the jurisdiction of Arlington County, you can also face additional local driving laws. Reckless driving is considered as traffic infraction of the code of motor vehicles rather than the abuse of code of crimes of Virginia.
Under the Code of Virginia § 46.2-852, general rule for defining reckless driving “Irrespective of the maximum speeds permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person shall be guilty of reckless driving”
Whereas the code § 46.2-862 sets the limits for the speed of the vehicles, driving on highways in Commonwealth:
- Exceeding 20 miles per hour than the posted limit will be charged reckless driving
- Or regardless of the posted limit exceeding 80 miles per hour will be charged reckless driving.
Penalties for Reckless Driving in Arlington County, Virginia:
Infraction of these traffic laws against reckless driving can cause serious penalties in Arlington, VA. Reckless driving in Arlington, VA is considered as class 1 misdemeanor under the code § 46.2-868 that means the convict may have to pay a fine up to $2,500 and a serious conviction can lead to 12 months jail. In addition six- points remains on your DMV record for 11 years. A license suspension for six or more months and difficulty in obtaining Security Clearance are other outcomes. In some cases, Arlington County court may order driving improvement program under DMV which costs over $100.
Reckless Driving Attorneys in Arlington County, Virginia
Assuming reckless driving another traffic citation is mere ignorance in Arlington, as it can cause severe penalties. If you have been charged with Reckless Driving law you may need an attorney to assist you. Attorneys are well aware of the court’s environment so they can help reduce the charge and guide you through all stages.