When driving vehicle in Virginia, the permitted level of blood alcohol content level is under .08%. It means that if you are convicted under the doubt of a Virginia DUI, and BAC level is at .08% or beyond, then you will be imprisoned and charged with Virginia DUI laws under 21 (18.2-266.1). This is because of the zero acceptance law which forbids anyone who is under 21, from operating a vehicle if they have been drinking alcohol.
When operating vehicle, watercraft or boat in Virginia, you are legally considered as driving under influence (DUI), if the blood alcohol is 0.08% or higher. If your driving is affected because you are under influence of alcohol or any drugs, you might face some serious penalties by Virginia DUI law under 21. The age of drinking in Virginia is 21, and if someone consume alcohol under 21 it is considered illegal. Though, the drivers under the age of 21 account for less than 10% of the licensed drivers, they reason for around 14% of Virginia DUI related mortalities according to a review. As juvenile drinkers cause an uneven sum of alcohol-related auto mortalities, the principles are firmer and the consequences might be stricter for persons under 21.
What are the Penalties?
When a driver is arrested for DUI in Virginia under 21, his driving license will be suspended for atleast 7 days, if the level of BAC is higher than .02 or if he refused to a Breathalyzer test (46.2-391.2 (A)(i)). This period of suspension can be increased upto 60 days in case of second offense. Virginia DUI law under 21 is a Class 1 misdemeanor. The driver will be punished with a fine of minimum $500 or 50 hours of community services or he will be stripped of from his driving license for over a year. The driver will have to participate in Virginia Alcohol Safety Program and may request for restricted license from the court. It is upto the will of judge to grant the offender a restricted license
Class 1 offense is the most serious one under Virginia law. The punishment includes a one year jail and a fine of $2,500.
On successful completion of Alcohol Safety Program, you will be entitled for a restricted driving license that will allow you to drive for limited purpose which includes from and to work, school, medical appointments and appearances in court.
Under Age 21
A person who is under the age of 21 while under the influence of drugs or blood alcohol content of .08% or higher are subjected to same penalties as person with age 21 or above. If you have the level of BAC of .02-.07 you will receive Virginia DUI under 21 or Zero Tolerance penalties. As Class I misdemeanor, DUI will be permanently reflected on your criminal record for the rest of your life.
If you have been charged with Virginia DUI law under 21, you need to take that charge very seriously and consult with our lawyer at SRIS Law Group who will help you throughout your case
If you wish to consult an SRIS Law Group, P.C. attorney,
Call us at 888-437-7747